Web of Life

Humanity is like a giant spiderweb. If you touch it anywhere, you set the whole thing trembling.Our lives are linked. No man is an island.

Frederick Buechner

This is one of the shots I took in China, even though it has absolutely nothing to do with China. I’ve always loved the intricacies of spider webs and I was quite lucky to catch this one.

Sadly, the photoblog slipped out of the top 10 on Photoblogs.org yesterday. If you guys want to see it back in the top 10 please click on the ‘Listed’ button in the sidebar to bookmark me. Also, don’t forget to rate me on CoolPhotoBlogs.com by clicking on the Cool Photoblogs button.

Also, yesterday’s shot was very highly rated by you guys so it has made it to Top Shots

And finally, a BIG shout out for Christian Wagner who made it to No.1 on Photoblogs.org. Congratulations!!

Photo Editing: Shadows in Picasa. Levels, Colour Balance and Cloning in Photoshop.

Nikon L101, 6mm, 1/456s, f/4.9, ISO:50

13 comments so far

  1. Suby on

    Nooo nooo noooo nooo nope,

    hey but stop suby, step back, have a look at this image for the next 2 minutes and see if you se it’s appeal as Sam wanted the ligting thingy to be as it is….

    Stepping back and looking at shot for 2 minutes……………………………………………..

    ……2 minutes later (and I REALLY DID look at this for 2 minutes)

    Starting to see the qirkiness of this shot, sorta growing on me SMILE.

    Okay enough of this nonsense of 1st editing in picasa then photoshop. EEEEcccccckkk not working. STOP IT

    Suby

  2. G on

    Strange.

    On the smaller version of this picture, I can see many small “hotspots” (I’m not sure if that’s the right term – they are little white dots)around the web. But, on the larger version, there’s nothing there. I find them quite distracting, but they are not on the “real” version, so it doesn’t matter too much.

  3. Azhar on

    Love the black part, hate the white part to put it simply. Now here is where HDR should be applied dummy 😛

  4. ana on

    I never did understand why being on some photoblog list was important to some….it really doesn’t mean that much. Or maybe it does, and I’m missing something? Anyway, cool web shot. Webshot. Ha ha. i’m so funny.

  5. kpaul on

    76/100

    😉

    -kpaul

  6. Whitney Hirschinger on

    You always find the most fantastic quotes for your images. Not to mention this image is beautiful. I keep trying to get a good spider web shot and it’s just not happening. This is an image that makes me envious! Beautiful work…as always! 🙂

  7. Laurie on

    Sam be careful not to get to sucked into the rating thing…it really doesn’t mean all that much.

    I love trying to catch spider webs. This has some blown highlights but it is still ok. I cannot wait until the fall when we get these enormous spiders that make these amazing and huge webs that when they are covered with dew in the morning should provide some cool shots.

  8. Puppatina on

    I’m impressed with the web; they are hard to get and so very worth it. I like that you take chances. That trait will really service your growing talent well.

    You’ll always be Number 1 with me!

  9. [t e r r o r k i t t e n] on

    A mixed bag of comments for sure…..I like the dark part and not so much the light part….feels a little to blown away for me….the frame feels to divided if that makes any sense???? Phil

  10. Christian Wagner on

    Nice picture! I too really like the simplicity yet complexity of spider webs. Yet I hate spiders, I have no idea why! 🙂

    And thanks so much for the shout out! 🙂

  11. micki on

    I watched a huge spider build her web this evening, took her almost an hour. They are amazing natural structures.

    I really like the quote you put up with this shot.

  12. Ashish Sidapara on

    The details on the darker side are amazing, however the blown up area is just not working for me.

  13. MrC on

    cobwebs rock!
    great shot – i like the contrasts & abstractness of it 😉


Leave a comment